Ask The Umpire Rule Eight

This section contains questions pertaining to MLB Rule Eight – The Pitcher. It is designed as a self-test to challenge your knowledge. Answers and rulings are given at the end.

1.  With runners on second and third and no outs, B8 hits a fly ball toward left field. However, during his delivery, F1 fails to stop and is correctly called for a balk. F7 catches the fly ball. R3 legally tags and scores. R2 does not advance

    A.  the ball is delayed-dead at the moment of the balk

    B.  the ball is immediately dead at the moment of the balk


2.  The offensive coach comes to the plate umpire to question the ruling from question 1

    A.  there is no option; the penalty is the penalty

    B.  the offensive coach has an option


3.  As a result of the coach questioning the penalty from question 2

    A.  there is no change; the penalty is the penalty

    B.  the coach may take the entire play over having the penalty enforced. R3 would score and B8 is out

    C.  the coach may take the best of both the penalty and the play, so R3 scores, R2 goes to third and B8 is awarded first base

    D.  R3 scores, R2 gets third and B8 returns to bat with the same count


4.  About charged conferences

    A.  in extra innings, a team is permitted one defensive conference every inning without having to replace the pitcher

    B.  in extra innings, a team is permitted to carry over unused defensive conferences

    C.  a defensive team may meet during an offensive conference without having the meeting being charged as long as there is no additional delay

    D.  an offensive team may meet during a defensive conference without the meeting being charged as long as there is no additional delay


5.  The pitching coach goes to the mound to talk with his starter. It is the team’s first defensive conference of the game and inning. After the starter gives up another hit, the head coach goes to the mound and replaces the starter. Once the reliever has finished his eight warm-up pitches, a pinch-hitter is announced. The pitching coach then requests another timeout to talk to his relief pitcher

    A.  the umpire will deny the request for the coach to visit the relief pitcher

    B.  the coach may visit the relief pitcher but must remove him after he completes pitching to the first batter he faces or the side is retired

    C.  the mound conference is legal. The coach does not have to remove the relief pitcher after he pitches to one batter or the side is retired since this is the coach’s first conference with his new pitcher

    D.  the visit to the relief pitcher is considered the second trip in that inning


6.  A pitcher has a cut on his pitching hand that begins to bleed during play

    A.  if the bleeding is not controlled, the substitute pitcher may take as many pitches from the game mound as he needs to be properly prepared to pitch

    B.  the coach may start a relief pitcher warming up immediately but that is not required

    C.  the umpire may allow a bandage to be placed over the cut

    D.  there is a specific limit of time as to how long the team has to control the bleeding or the pitcher must be replaced


7.  With R2 on second base, the pitcher, from the set position, turns and fakes a throw to second

    A.  legal move

    B.  balk; the pitcher may not fake to second base

    C.  the pitcher must disengage before faking to second base on a pickoff


8.  With R1 on first base, the pitcher balks in his pickoff attempt but throws wildly to first. The first baseman recovers the errant throw and then throws wildly into the outfield, allowing R1 to reach third base

    A.  leave R1 at third base

    B.  return R1 to second base

    C.  enforce the balk

    D.  the ball is dead immediately

    E.  the ball is dead when F3 picks up the ball

    F.  the ball is dead when all playing action stops


9.  With R1 on first base, the pitcher balks in his pickoff attempt but throws wildly to first. The first baseman catches the ball, then throws wildly to second base. The errant throw allows R1 to reach third base

    A.  leave R1 at third base

    B.  return R1 to second base

    C.  enforce the balk

    D.  the ball is dead immediately

    E.  the ball is dead when F3 catches the ball

    F.  the ball is dead when all playing action stops


10.  With R3 on third base, the pitcher is standing on the rubber in the windup position. Prior to the pitcher addressing the hitter, the pitcher (who started with his glove hand in front of his body and pitching hand at his side) joins his hands in front of his body to adjust the ball with no other movement that would appear to be the start of the pitching motion. R3 breaks for the plate as the pitcher is joining his hands. The pitcher legally steps off the rubber and throws R3 out at home plate

    A.  balk

    B.  the out stands

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *