Ask The Umpire Rule Ten

This section contains questions pertaining to MLB Rule Ten this rule deals with Keeping Score. It is designed as a self-test to challenge your knowledge. Answers and rulings are given at the end.

1.  Before 1954 a batter was not charged an at-bat if any base runner advanced a base on a fly ball

    A.  true

    B.  false


2.  What is considered a sacrifice?

    A.  a sacrifice bunt even if a runner is put out

    B.  a sacrifice bunt only if a runner advances one base

    C.  a sacrifice bunt only if it is a safety squeeze

    D.  a sacrifice bunt only if it is a suicide squeeze 


3.  When a double or triple steal is attempted and one runner is thrown out before reaching and holding the base he is attempting to steal, no other runner(s) shall be credited with a stolen base

    A.  true

    B.  false


4.  In a nine inning game, how many innings must a starting pitcher complete to be the winning pitcher?

    A.  9

    B.  7

    C.  6

    D.  5


5.  To determine batting average, divide the total number of safe hits by:

    A.  total bases

    B.  total times at bat

    C.  total runs scored


6.  To determine slugging percentage, divide the total bases of all safe hits by:

    A.  total times at bat

    B.  total extra base hits

    C.  total runs scored

    D.  total hits


7.  To determine a pitcher’s earned run average (ERA), multiply the total earned runs charged against his pitching by 9 and divide by:

    A.  total appearances

    B.  total number of hits allowed

    C.  total number of innings pitched

    D.  total number of pitches thrown


8.  To determine a fielding average, divide the total putouts and assists by the total of:

    A.  total assists and putouts

    B.  total errors

    C.  total putouts, assists and errors


9.  The official scorer for each league shall be appointed by

    A.  the league President

    B.  the league Secretary

    C.  the majority of votes by the teams


10.  On a strikeout, is the catcher credited with a putout?

    A.  yes, always

    B.  yes, only if he catches the pitch or tags out the batter on a dropped third strike

    C.  no, never

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *